Reviews

Excellent! - Rating 5/5

Stayed on three consecutive weekends. Good clean comfy rooms. Trudi &Dave returned from a day visiting relatives especially to open up for us. How many guest houses offer that sort of service? Well done!

Reviewer:Barry Purdon | Thu 26th Oct 2017


Comfortable stay with lovely hosts - Rating 5/5

Recent stay with my partner was lovely. Welcomed on arrival with some homemade brownies. Stayed in room 7 on the very top floor with a comfortable bed and large bathroom with power shower.Lovely full English breakfast each morning.Would happily stay here again.

Reviewer:Sarah Louise Jones | Wed 20th Sep 2017


Lovely little hotel - Rating 5/5

Very friendly owners, great breakfast.Ideally located in Chard with large car park.Couldn\'t fault it at all :)

Reviewer:John Maltman | Fri 1st Sep 2017


Great place - Rating 5/5

Excellent . Thank you for a pleaent stay.

Reviewer:Tim Thompson | Wed 23rd Aug 2017


Excellent location - Rating 5/5

Very central location, lovely house, good size rooms nice en suite excellent onsite parking warm welcome from owners. Excellent breakfast but would have preferred longer breakfast time (7.30-9) when on holiday nice not to have to rush in morning .

Reviewer:Alison Sinclair | Wed 26th Jul 2017


Faultless - Rating 5/5

Our 3rd stay at The Watermead. Exceptionally clean, modern decor. Spacious rooms. Superb Breakfast. Faultless. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs S P Walker | Mon 5th Jun 2017


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Spent one night here to attend a wedding reception, lovely property and very welcoming. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean with all you could need for overnight stay.Breakfast was excellent with a choice and was freshly cooked with local produce.Would highly recommend.Ask to say hello to Chester the beautiful golden retriever.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Hopson | Tue 30th May 2017


Home from home- Rating 5/5

Me and my husband stay very regular and every time our stay is very enjoyable. Trudy and Dave are always very pleasant and welcoming. Food and service is very good and would highly recommend this guest house

Reviewer:Mrs. DoreenBaggaley| Mon 5th Dec 2016


Excellent Guest House - Rating 5/5

I have been staying here for several years, and the personal service received from Trudi and David is second to none.This is a cozy well appointed guest house, with a breakfast second to none.I thoroughly recommend the Watermead to all potential guests.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Doyle | Mon 28th Nov 2016


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

Wonderful and clean room with plenty of room and 45 beds for the whole family. Perfectly catered for by Trudy and David. Many thanks for a wonderful week.

Reviewer:Mr. Florian Rammrath | Sun 14th Aug 2016


short stay - Rating 5/5

we stay in many guest houses,Watermead is up with the best.very clean and comfortable,excellent food and very helpful and friendly hosts.would not hesitate to stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. IAN PARDOE | Fri 15th Jul 2016


A home from home guest house. - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable and welcoming guest house in a delightful quiet location but close to many local attractions and the coast is a short drive.The proprietors, Trudy and David, are very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.The breakfasts were fantastic and ample.We will definately return to Watermead on our next visit to this area.

Reviewer:Mr. John Bowyer | Thu 7th Jul 2016


Pleasurable Stay- Rating 5/5

My aunt and I stayed two nights at Watermead Guest House.It is conveniently located in Chard, within walking distance of restaurants and shops.The room was very comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and the owners were friendly and helpful. This is our third visit.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lesley Coates | Mon 20th Jun 2016


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

One night stay in this charming, very personable B&B was superb. Very friendly, clean and quiet. Great traditional breakfast freshly cooked.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve Hankin | Wed 8th Jun 2016


Charming Chard Stopover - Rating 5/5

Excellent one night stop-over on route to Cornwall.Lovely room and breakfast.We were made to feel very welcome. Great to meet Chester the dog.We would recommend to anyone and hope to stay again in he future.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard Mantell | Sat 28th May 2016


The Visit - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay, very friendly and welcoming, nice quiet setting, delicious breakfast and a beautiful dog. We will stay again when in Chard.

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine Affleck | Wed 25th May 2016


Latest stay - Rating 5/5

Once again I found the B&B very friendly, with comfortable rooms and pleasant surroundings and good breakfast.

Reviewer:Miss. Jacqueline Walker | Fri 20th May 2016


Hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

Watermead is a hidden gem great hosts and great breakfast will definately stay again and recommend to colleagues.

Reviewer:Mr. KEN MARTIN | Wed 20th Apr 2016


Always a great stay - Rating 5/5

I\'ve become a bit of a regular by now and there\'s a reason for it! Lovely hosts, homely feel, well presented rooms and great breakfast! Couldn\'t ask for better value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. Ben Webster | Fri 11th Mar 2016


Very pleasant one night stopover - Rating 5/5

Having read the good reviews already, I was not disappointed. This is a very well run guest house with a lovely ambience and attentive care taken to look after the guests\' needs. It is a spacious house, well set back from the main road, and so very quiet. Everything is well appointed, modern, clean and tidy. I enjoyed the breakfast, with items locally sourced. I would not hesitate to recommend Watermead Guest House to colleagues who work for the same organisation and frequently visit the area.

Reviewer:Mr. John Wright | Wed 9th Mar 2016


Should have stayed longer - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night on 31st October,2015.The room was perfect,as was the whole house,Trudy and David were a pleasure to meet,will definitely be staying again in my continued search for a property in Chard.

Reviewer:Mr. David Knight | Mon 2nd Nov 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Not the first time we have stayed here and as usual we had a lovely stay.Trudy and David make you feel so welcome in their lovely house.The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated and the breakfasts are so fresh and tasty.I would recommend the Watermead to anyone visiting this part of the country and we will definitely be staying there next time.

Reviewer:Miss. Laura blows | Sun 25th Oct 2015


B&Bs don\'t get much better than this! - Rating 5/5

My partner and I recently enjoyed a wonderful stay in room 7 of Watermead Guest House. Trudy and David are incredibly welcoming and offer great advice on places to see/visit/eat in Somerset. The rooms are simply but tastefully decorated and offer all the amenities one needs for a comfortable stay. Not a spec of dust in site! We thoroughly enjoyed the cooked breakfast and would highly recommend David\'s delicious scrambled egg. Most of the ingredients are locally sourced and you can really taste the difference. The B&B is in a great location, just off Chard high street and offers ample parking. We will definitely return for our next trip to Somerset and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a 5* B&B in the area.

Reviewer:Miss. Tiffany Cox | Thu 27th Aug 2015


just as good - Rating 5/5

I regularly stay at Watermead because of the hospitality and friendliness of Trudy and Dave, the comfy beds, well appointed rooms and easy parking. I would always recommend it

Reviewer:Ms. Lindsey Bristow | Thu 20th Aug 2015


Great Hotel, Warm Welcome - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay at the Watermead Guest House when attending a friends wedding locally. Charming room and Trudy was very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to others.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Davis | Tue 4th Aug 2015


Very pleasant guesthouse- Rating 5/5

This is a very pleasant guesthouse

Reviewer:Mrs. Deborah Sherry | Mon 6th Jul 2015


Watermead Guest House - Rating 5/5

Received a warm welcome as usual after a long business trip. This is a lovely weel appointed guest house with everything you could want for a night or more stay. Great breakfast and service from Trudy in the morning sets you up for the day. Highly recommended, and I look forward to my next stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Doyle | Thu 18th Jun 2015


Great family room and location - Rating 5/5

We loved staying at the Watermead Guest House. We stayed in the family room which was perfect for our needs:plenty of room, microwave, fridge, tv and lounge area, and separate to the main house which meant we didn\'t have to worry about keeping the children quiet! In addition to this, we were served a great breakfast with food sourced from the local area. Finally, don\'t be concerned that \"High Street\"forms part of the address since the property is set back from the road and so it is pretty quiet.It\'s a great place to stay if you want to spend time in Lyme Regis and the surrounding area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Vincenza Gabriella Wells | Tue 2nd Jun 2015


friendly & comfortable accommodation- Rating 5/5

I\'ve been coming here a few years now, and Trudy and David always make me feel welcome. All the rooms are different and have their own character, free WiFi is much appreciated as is the tea and coffee making facilities. The Guest House is a the top of the High Street within a short walk of pubs and restaurants.

Reviewer:Mr. neale apsey | Sun 31st May 2015


Highly Recommend - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay - nice amenities, delicious breakfast and lovely hosts.

Reviewer:Miss. Anna Robertson | Sun 31st May 2015


Honest Opinion. - Rating 5/5

we found this guest house both comfortable, clean and very welcoming.Our hosts were very kind , attentive and looked After us so well, it made our stay that much nicer.We can honestly recommend staying here to anyone visiting Chard and area, you would not be disappointed.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Allen Shaw | Fri 15th May 2015


Recent stay - Rating 5/5

A very pleasant stay with a good breakfast and a comfortable room.

Reviewer:Miss. Jacqueline Walker | Wed 6th May 2015


Very enjoyable stay- Rating 5/5

We have just spent a very enjoyable weekend at this B &B.Made very welcome, excellent breakfasts and rooms extremely clean.

Reviewer:Mr. PAUL LUTON | Wed 29th Apr 2015


Lovely Guest House and Great hosts - Rating 5/5

Stopped at Watermead for overnight stay. David was extremely accommodating. I felt very welcomed, the room was lovely and warm and very clean. The breakfast was very well received after a good night sleep. The only fault is that we only stayed the one night.

Reviewer:Ms. Kim Bolus | Mon 23rd Mar 2015


A pleasurable stay - Rating 5/5

Very relaxed, very friendly very comfortable, very clean, Watersmead Guest House ticks all the boxes and is home from home, I recommend it to all ...

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Comber | Tue 3rd Feb 2015


Homely - Rating 4/5

Lovely stay, felt like being at home and the hosts were extremely friendly, adding a nice personal touch to the stay. Would recommend highly. Only downside is that you can hear other guests from inside the room a bit.

Reviewer:Mr. Ben Webster | Thu 27th Nov 2014


Recent Stay - Rating 5/5

As usual a very good service, with comfortable room and good breakfast.

Reviewer:Miss. Jacqueline Walker | Wed 8th Oct 2014


Very Nice - Rating 5/5

Stayed for three nights, nice clean and comfortable, great people and tasty breakfast. I would stay again

Reviewer:Mr. James Smith | Thu 18th Sep 2014


short stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely Guest House, very clean and great owners. It\'s a pity it was only one night.I would recommend it.

Reviewer:Mr. David Brian Morris | Mon 15th Sep 2014


Our stay at Watermead Guest House - Rating 5/5

We can thoroughly recommend this Guest House. We received a very warm welcome from the owner. Our room had a lovely view, was very clean and the bed very comfortable.Breakfast was served in a clean and modern room and was cooked perfectly. We can not fault our night away in any way and are very pleased that we found and chose Watermead. Can also recommend the Bath House Restaurant, 5 mins walk for a fantastic evening meal.

Reviewer:Mrs. Diane Collins | Sun 14th Sep 2014


Attending Silver Wedding Celebration - Rating 5/5

We booked a 4 night break at Watermead Guest House from 3rd Sept 2014. Everything, and I mean everything was superb. Lovely twin room with extremely comfortable beds, Small but adequate en suite facilities with very hot water. Although we were at the top of the stairs we never heard any guests passing our door. Extremely quiet position about 20 yards off the main road. Breakfasts were truly superb cooked by Dave and his eggs which I tried fried, boiled and poached were lip smacking gorgeous and so beautifully compact. (The sign of a fresh farm egg!) Trudy was a lovely lady, always greeted you by your first name and really interested in how you had spent your day as also was Dave. My husband and I cannot praise too highly the enjoyable stay we had with Trudy and Dave. Plus we had a lovely time with our 25th wedding anniversary friends who we hadn't seen for quite a number of years.If you are anywhere around Chard then visit the Watermead Guest House.

Reviewer:Mrs. Patricia Baker | Tue 9th Sep 2014


it's nice to feel like home - Rating 5/5

It was a pleasure staying in your guest house.the service was just amazing.everything was perfect,thanks for making us feel like "home"!!!

Reviewer:Mr. Ioannis Sfakianakis | Wed 6th Aug 2014


Watermead guest House - Rating 4/5

my partner and I have just spent three days in Chard staying at Watermead Guest house.It was a pleasure to stay there, room very nice and breakfast very tasty Mr and Mrs Cole are perfect hosts

Reviewer:Mrs. Janet Bates | Tue 15th Jul 2014


perfect family guest house - Rating 5/5

We had a huge family room, which easily fit the 5 of us. Fridge,tv, comfortable sitting area. Breakfast was relaxed with plenty of food. Welcoming to children and teens. would certainly recommend to families.

Reviewer:Mrs. Ceridwen Mcgovern | Tue 15th Jul 2014


Excellent as usual - Rating 5/5

This is the second time I have stayed at Watermead and I have been very happy both times.The guest house is clean, smart and comfortable.You are greeted like an old friend which is pleasant.There are good restaurants within easy walking distance and ample private parking. I will stay there again next time I am in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith Raper | Fri 11th Jul 2014


weekend break - Rating 5/5

Beautiful bed and breakfast ideally suited for the town centre, accomadation was lovely although en-suite was a bit small, breakfast was delicious and our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. would highly recommend staying here and would definitely return

Reviewer:Miss. Mandy Taylor | Tue 8th Jul 2014


Great night stay! - Rating 5/5

My husband and I stayed at the Watermead guest house at the end of May 2014. We were welcomed at the door by a lovely couple Trudy and David.Chester the puppy was very welcoming too! The bedroom and bathroom were completely spotless and very comfortable. The breakfast was very generous with a buffet available and a delicious full English.Needless to say we would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Fiona Martins | Sun 1st Jun 2014


Review - Rating 5/5

As usual an excellent stay as has been the case for the last 17 years.A comfortable bed and a good breakfast await all that stay here.

Reviewer:Miss. Jacqueline Walker | Thu 29th May 2014


Clean and welcoming - Rating 5/5

Lovely welcome on my arrival, my luggage was carried for me to my room, everything was explained on arrival that I needed to know,I had a nice relaxing weekend in a clean room with a comfy bed! All that I needed was available in my room,my only regret (from partying all night), was not getting up to have the breakfast, which smelt delicious! Thank you Trudy and David for a lovely stay :-) xx

Reviewer:Mrs. Janet Brown | Sun 23rd Mar 2014


House hunting weekend - Rating 5/5

It was a cold February Friday when we arrived. The heating was on and our room comfortably warm. Both nights we slept like logs. We cannot fault the breakfast and is certainly in our top three we've ever had in a B&B. We were very pleased with our choice and would stay again

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher Whittle | Sun 16th Mar 2014


Back again :) - Rating 5/5

I regularly stay at the Watermead because Dave and Trudy make me feel truly welcome, the beds are comfy, the rooms spacious and the breakfast excellent.

Reviewer:Ms. Lindsey Bristow | Tue 25th Feb 2014


Excellent B & B - Rating 5/5

I stay at Watermead a day or two each month and I am pleased to say the standard of decoration and furnishings of the rooms is excellent and they are comfortably warm on cold dismal winter days. The cleanliness is spot on as is the food and the welcome from the owners. The house is on the high street with plenty of parking and only a very short walk to pubs, shops and restaurants. I thoroughly recommend it!

Reviewer:Mr. Phil Asma | Mon 10th Feb 2014


Watermead - Rating 5/5

Very nice stay, thanks. Have a good Christmas!

Reviewer:Mr. Stuart & Sandra Birrell | Mon 23rd Dec 2013


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Great hospitality, spotless, character of thebuilding. Possibly the best classic English breakfast I've had. Very friendly, easy going atmosphere. Would definitely return

Reviewer:Mr. Alec Corper | Tue 19th Nov 2013


Excellent servcie and Accommodation - Rating 5/5

We have stayed with Trudy and David on multiple occasions and keep coming back because we find the service and accommodation along their personal hospitality second to none.Always made very welcome each time we stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Lennon | Mon 30th Sep 2013


2013 stay - Rating 5/5

Once again I had a very pleasant stay at the Watermead Guest House and would definately recommend it.

Reviewer:Miss. Jacqueline Walker | Sun 1st Sep 2013


thoroughly reccommend - Rating 5/5

this establishment has made me rethink my opinion of british B&Bs. couldn't fault it, from the easy booking to the 'superb' poached eggs for breakfast!!! Your hosts are warm and friendly , the rooms very clean, comfortable and to a high standard.

Reviewer:Ms. Lynn Gray | Mon 26th Aug 2013


Short break - Rating 5/5

Having never stayed in a Guest House or done B&B before, we found Watermead an absolute delight. We were made to feel extremely welcome, our room was very clean and the breakfasts were "just heaven"- all in all a lovely break to the extent that we are planning on going again next year with our grandsons.

Reviewer:Mrs. Ann Breakwell | Tue 20th Aug 2013


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

Lovely guest house, very friendly owners who made me feel very welcome. The guest house itself including the room was all very aesthetic and food was good. Good quality for money &would recommend to others.

Reviewer:Miss. Anne Kelly | Fri 16th Aug 2013


Great - Rating 5/5

Excellent friendly establishment,Trudy &Dave make you feel very welcome, good breakfast, I shall be going back.

Reviewer:Mr. Andy Barnard | Fri 26th Jul 2013


Short stay at Westmead - Rating 5/5

What a little gem - Great hosts. Trudy and David(George ) can’t do enough for you. Very helpful ,with suggestions on the local places to go, eat and things to do.Made very welcome and the accommodation is to a high standard.We found the Watermead an ideal location to visit the coast and local attractions. Chard is a quirky small town with traditions buildings and shops.We would recommend this guest house and would have no hesitation to return.

Reviewer:Mr. Philip Robinson | Thu 25th Jul 2013


Good hospitality at Watermead - Rating 4/5

This was a lovely establishment. Very well run by friendly hosts. Comfortable and clean, quiet considering close to a main road. Had nice little touches such as homemade shortbreadand sweets. Would definitely visit again if in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Jackman | Thu 4th Jul 2013


A charming and friendly guesthouse! - Rating 5/5

Trudy and David are the perfect hosts in a perfect guesthouse. We had a lovely three day stay in their elegant, quiet, clean and friendly home. Their breakfasts were excellent and kept you full for all of the day and there was always more tea and coffee offered. Trudy and David were always helpful with advice on the local and surrounding areas to make your stay more enjoyable. The extra touches such as the homemade biscuits made it even more special. We would give it a 10/10! and would recommend your establishment to all our family and friends.

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin Coldwell | Thu 20th Jun 2013


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent stay at watermeade.Friendly staff and good rooms.Hope to stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Woolman | Mon 17th Jun 2013


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent overnight stay bed comfortable breakfast very good

Reviewer:Mr. David Kerry | Wed 29th May 2013


Execellent - Rating 5/5

Very nice owners.The rooms were in execellent condition and the breakfast very good.We will come again.

Reviewer:Mr. Karl-heinz Fichtner | Thu 16th May 2013


Excellent - Rating 5/5

This is a great place to stay - lots of parking within a few feet of the front door, really comfortable house and hospitable owners;clean, comfortable rooms and breakfast to die for.The ingredients are superb and cooked to perfection and if you have the full "english"you probably wouldn't need to eat for the rest of the day.Highly recommended

Reviewer:Mrs. ElizabethBosworth | Fri 5th Apr 2013


Excellent Guest House - Rating 5/5

This is the second time that I have stayed at the Watermead and I would definitely stay here again.It's so convenient, the rooms are excellent and the owners genuinely care about their guests.Pity I didn't have breakfast but judging by the smell and my past experience it's as good as everything else here.Everything you would want in a guest house.

Reviewer:Mr. Hugh O\'rourke | Sun 10th Mar 2013


One night only - Rating 5/5

A superb,friendly establishment with everything you'd need for a lovely pleasant stay

Reviewer:Mr. MarkPlummer | Fri 1st Mar 2013


a "Gem" - Rating 5/5

I googled a B&B in Chard for an overnight business visit, and I found Watermead. I travel extensively for my work and have stayed in many places, hotels, guest houses, B&B's. It is difficult to write something here which sums up Watermead.. I would just suggest you visit and find out for yourself, even if you have to travel a few miles out of your way. Holiday or business you will not be disappointed. Thanks Trudy and Dave. Zak sends his love!!!

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Youl | Tue 19th Feb 2013


Mr & Mrs - Rating 5/5

Very Friendly would use again in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. Bruce Hunt | Sun 9th Dec 2012


First rate guest house - Rating 5/5

Guest houses don't get much better than this! Friendly atmosphere, comfortable beds and a great breakfast. Thank you Trudy and David.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris Ford | Sun 11th Nov 2012


over night at Watermead Guest House - Rating 5/5

My Husband and I satyed with my elderly mother over night. The accommodation was of a very high standard and the owners were very hospitable. I would be mindful that if you are unable to manage stairs easily there is no ground floor accommodation. Excellent breakfast!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Karen Harvey | Fri 2nd Nov 2012


Nice place - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely stay at the Watermead Guest House. Trudy and Dave were very helpful with everything and the breakfast was excellent.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan Mcdonald | Sat 6th Oct 2012


tremendous - Rating 5/5

we had a fantastic stay at this tremendously comfortable guest house, the rooms are both clean and comfortable , and the breakfasts were fantastic.you could not wish for better accomadation &a friendlier couple who run it-thank you we will be back

Reviewer:Mr. John Mawson | Sat 22nd Sep 2012


A lovely House - Rating 5/5

The rooms are tastefully furnished, a very warm welcome and a fabulous breakfast to set you up for the day. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Penny Anyon | Tue 28th Aug 2012


- Rating 4/5

As always, I found a warm welcome at the Watermead Guest House, and together with the comfortable rooms and good breakfasts I had a very pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Miss. Jacqueline Walker | Wed 15th Aug 2012


Comfy friendly b&b - Rating 4/5

Clean and comfy rooms with a cracking breakfast. Just a short walk from the town centre. We had a lovely stay and Trudy was very informative and helpful. Only downside for some may be the shower in the bedroom but it didn't bother us.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sarah-jane Clark | Sat 11th Aug 2012


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very friendly, efficient, neat and tidy, well located. Everything a guest house should be. No need for TV guru's here!

Reviewer:Mr. Terry Lowndes | Tue 7th Aug 2012


Highly recommended Guest House - Rating 5/5

Trudy and David such lovely people running this establishment, Trudy made me feel extremely welcome when I arrived and I was well informed where everything was and where to contact them should I need anything further. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was amazing, just very simple but as much as you wanted and most of all absolutelly beatifully cooked and presented nice and hot. This guest house was recommended to me and I would highly recommend it to anyone else.Thank you for a very comfortable stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Trevor Handy | Mon 6th Aug 2012


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Pefect, what more can I say. Very friendly people who provide excellent service and a comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your hospitality. I highly recommend this guest house to all travellers who need somewhere to stay in or around Chard.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Dowley | Tue 17th Jul 2012


welcoming - Rating 5/5

Trudy and Dave were as welcoming as ever. A very pleasant room, clean and confortable with very good facilities. I regularly stay here and plan to do so many more times. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Karen Bristow | Wed 11th Jul 2012


Watermead Guest House - Rating 5/5

Really friendly guest house. Owners are really helpful and knowledgeable about the local area and Golf Courses. Windwhistle Golf Course nearby is a challenging course suitable for all levels.

Reviewer:Mr. Dave Hardaway | Wed 11th Jul 2012


- Rating 5/5

had an absolutely delightful 2 nights.great comfortable bed and spacious room.breakfast fantastic - could not fault our stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julia Williamson | Sun 1st Jul 2012


Returning guest - Rating 4/5

This is the third time I have had the pleasure of staying here.The accommodation is homely, clean and cosy the breakfast and hospitality are even better.

Reviewer:Mrs. Pia Townsend | Sun 17th Jun 2012


Homely and Friendly stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night passing through for a family funeral. This is a very welcoming guest house with good size double bedroom, nicely furnished and clean. Breakfast was excellent, very good value for money.Thank you Trudy and David for making a not so nice occasion more bearable.

Reviewer:Mrs. Karen Davies | Wed 30th May 2012


Great Guest House - Rating 5/5

Excellent value. Very comfortable, clean and quiet. Very good breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Norman Davies | Thu 24th May 2012


Lovely stay!! - Rating 5/5

Thank you for your kind hospitality, and we had a wonderful stay. Our son wanted to go back when we came back to london. Breakfast was very good, room was big, comfortable and perfect for family of 5, and we could relax that it was on our own so not too worry about youngest one making noise. We would recommend to anyone to stay there!!

Reviewer:Mr. Edoardo Frateantonio | Mon 16th Apr 2012


Lovely stay!! - Rating 5/5

Thank you for your kind hospitality, and we had a wonderful stay. Our son wanted to go back when we came back to london. Breakfast was very good, room was big, comfortable and perfect for family of 5, and we could relax that it was on our own so not too worry about youngest one making noise. We would recommend to anyone to stay there!!

Reviewer:Mr. Edoardo Frateantonio | Mon 16th Apr 2012


terrific - Rating 5/5

even before the door was opened, I knew that I was in for a treat - and how right I was!!Fantastic welcome, great hospitality and a lovely room.I could not have asked for more.If ever I am back in Chard, I will certainly come back again to Watermead!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Marian Prior | Sat 31st Mar 2012


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

Once again we were treated to a lovely hospitable stay. We can certainly recommend Watermead as a stop for a short break or a long term holiday. Trudie and David are wonderful hosts. Thanks again for a very pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Miss. Catherine Crighton | Fri 16th Mar 2012


Watermead Guesthouse - Rating 5/5

Very friendly, very clean, lovely decor, comfy bed with beautiful bedding, good food, car parking, all together a lovely guesthouse which I highly recommend.

Reviewer:Miss. Jill Bailey | Mon 27th Feb 2012


Good find! - Rating 5/5

Clear directions and good to have ample off road parking. Friendly welcome, very clean and comfortable and excellent breakfast. We will be back if we are in the area again.Anne and Bill Folkes

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne Folkes | Sun 15th Jan 2012


A Great Pre-Christmas Stay! - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay at Watermead as part of a weekend trip from Yorkshire for a friend's wedding reception. The place was very clean and tidy, David &Trudy were fantastic hosts who made us feel very welcome. I would recommend Watermead to anyone who is planning to visit the Chard area.

Reviewer:Mr. Darren Burton | Tue 20th Dec 2011


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

I stayed for 3 nights at Watermead with Trudy and David. The room was really lovely, very clean and warm. A very good size. Water was hot and bed was really comfortable. Trudy and David were wonderful hosts and really couldnt do enough to help. A lovely start to my life in Somerset!

Reviewer:Mrs. Juliet Duquemin | Fri 16th Dec 2011


Always a warm welcome and pleasant experience - Rating 5/5

First visited WGH in September 2005, when attending our eldest daughter's wedding, and on that occasion our group of five stayed in the family room, which more than fulfilled our requirements.Since that initial 2-night stay, we have during the last 12-months alone, stayed a further five times.We both find the accommodation pleasant and quiet, as well as offering a lovely night's rest with a very hearty and enjoyable breakfast to follow.The welcome afforded by both Trudy &David is first-class, making our stay very relaxing and at ease.We are firm believers in that once you find somewhere that meets and exceeds your needs and where the price does not drain your purse, then why keep looking elsewhere.Whilst we have the need to continue coming down to Somerset to see our daughter and her family, then we will always try to stay with Trudy &David.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Lennon | Mon 5th Dec 2011


nth stay - Rating 5/5

This was my nth stay at Watermead and nothing has changed. Trudy and David are still delightful and charming hosts, the beds are super comfy and the breakfast is exactly what i want it to be. I'll be back - many times

Reviewer:Ms. K Lindsey Bristow | Thu 1st Dec 2011


- Rating 5/5

Thoroughly recommend Watermead Guest House. Warm welcome from Trudy and David. Very comfortable bedroom with everything we needed and a delicious breakfast!

Reviewer:Mrs. Joan Beckingsale | Wed 23rd Nov 2011


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Nice quiet house. Good breakfast. Would visit again.

Reviewer:Mr. Reginald Durbridge | Mon 21st Nov 2011


Autumn walking weekend - Rating 5/5

WE were made very welcome and had a comfortable stay with excellent facilities.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Graham | Tue 11th Oct 2011


Just perfect! - Rating 5/5

Having tried many hotels in the region to stay at with a toddler and a small dog, I think we have finally found the one we shall stay at from here forward. The studio has plenty of space, (as tested by our three year old running back and forth), was spotlessly clean, had good parking and offered everything we could want. The best part was being separate from the main house, our little lad could run, play and enjoy himself without constant shushing from Mum and Dad!Cannot recommend the Watermead enough! We shall be back soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Darren Staples | Mon 3rd Oct 2011


hotel stay - Rating 4/5

a nice friendly famliy run hotel, will be staying again

Reviewer:Mr. David Thomson | Thu 15th Sep 2011


Recent Stay - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at the Watermead on several occasions and found the hosts to be very helpful, friendly and understanding.The rooms are great and breakfast also very good. I would recommend any friends who were wanting an experience in Chard or on their way to Cornwall to stay at Watermead Guest House. Very good hospitality

Reviewer:Miss. Janet Goode | Mon 12th Sep 2011


Excellent - Rating 5/5

A very pleasant stay with a lovely clean and comfortable room and really welcoming and helpful people. Amazing breakfast! Lots of effort and care clearly put into everything. Would definitely recommend without hesitation and will stay again next time I'm in this neck of the woods!

Reviewer:Mrs. Anna Hardy | Sun 11th Sep 2011


2 night stay - Rating 4/5

We stayed here for 2 nights for our 1st wedding anniversary and my wife is 8 months pregnant so didn't want to venture too far afield.The room was nice and clean, good location in the centre of the town. Breakfast was good and hosts very friendly.Would recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Lee Griffiths | Tue 30th Aug 2011


Cyclists welcome - Rating 4/5

Very friendly welcome to a clean and comfortable house. Nothing was too much trouble. My bike was stored in the secure garage, my cycling kit was dried over night and my water bottles filled in the morning. A very quiet room with an extremely comfy bed. Great breakfast in the morning. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Oliver Golding | Mon 22nd Aug 2011


Pleasurable - Rating 4/5

The hotel was beautifully furnished and clean, breakfast was fabulous. Very well situated for the high street. The only draw back being the very steep staircase to the top floor but still a very pleasant overnight stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith Richards | Thu 18th Aug 2011


A pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

A good clean room, great breakfast andwelcoming host. Would certainly recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lindsey Pavitt | Thu 18th Aug 2011


Family Room - Rating 5/5

If you are used to Premier Inn/Travelodge family rooms then you are in for a real treat, best family room we've been in and for not much more than a Premier Inn/Travelodge room + breakfast which is included (and very nice) here!

Reviewer:Mr. Neil Munro | Wed 17th Aug 2011


Family stopover - Rating 5/5

We booked one night on our way to holiday in Devon, to avoid the M5 holiday madness. It is so difficult to find good accommodation for a family of 5 without having to book 2 rooms. The family room at the Watermead was excellent and comfortable for all 5 of us, with one double and 3 single beds. We were made very welcome and would recommend to others.

Reviewer:Mr. Simon Hill | Sat 6th Aug 2011


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Very good, very friendly, very clean. A great place to stay in Chard.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Porter | Fri 29th Jul 2011


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Highly professional with a friendly touch, excellent family room, great breakfast.No hesitation in recommending.

Reviewer:Mr. Gregory Larcombe | Sun 24th Jul 2011


A Perfect Place - Rating 5/5

I pre-booked a one night stay at the Watermead Guest House online whilst touring about in Somerset and Devon.It was my first ever visit to Chard in Somerset but what an absolutely lovely guest house.The room was lovely and clean with an en-suite bathroom.Parking was no problem thanks to a nice large car park for the guests, and even though the guest house is just off the main road which made it easy to find its so very quiet.David and Trudy were both very helpful and friendly and told us about two local places were we could get an evening meal.The following morning an excellent breakfast made from local produce set us up for the day.It was a pity that I only had one night at the Watermead before I moved on but I would certainly recommend the guest house to anyone wanting a stay in the area.And I will certainly be returning to the Watermead on my next visit to Somerset.

Reviewer:Mr. John Wilson | Fri 24th Jun 2011


Two night short break - Rating 5/5

Details obtained from the Internet.We had a very large twin bedroom with all the little touches that one would normally find in up-market hotels. Excellentlounge and dining room with hearty breakfast. Very friendly and helpfull owners. We would recommend Watermead to our friends for a short break in the area. We shall certainly stay again if we are in the Chard area. We wish you both continued good luck with yourexcellent business.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Taylor | Wed 8th Jun 2011


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

I've stayed at the Watermead a couple of times now and it is somewhere I am happy to recommend. It is incredibly clean;the breakfast is delicious;it is a charming building;and the owners very friendly and welcoming. Good value too.

Reviewer:Dr. John Flannigan | Tue 31st May 2011


Perfect hosts - Rating 5/5

I have stayed here a couple of times for work reasons.Nice clean room.Wi-fi for checking your emails.Great breakfast.Easy parking.Right price and lovely hosts.

Reviewer:Mr. Neil Bush | Thu 19th May 2011


excellent - Rating 5/5

Trudy and Dave will do everything to make your stay at watermead a pleasant one. The rooms are modern without chintz or candlewick bed spreads! the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are clean and towels thick and fluffy. I don't eat a cooked breakfast but everyone else seems to enjoy it - I'm happy with my fruit and toast. I stay here quite regularly and have never had a complaint.

Reviewer:Ms. Lindsey Bristow | Wed 18th May 2011


watermead Guest House - Rating 5/5

excelent, friendly, clean, comfortable and well priced.

Reviewer:Mr. neil bolton | Tue 17th May 2011


Lovely and Friendly Place - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a lovely stay. Welcome was great, room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was great.My daughter has asked if we can go back and she enjoyed it.

Reviewer:Tania Beck | Sat 14th May 2011


Family Visit - Rating 5/5

Excellent facilities for families in the Studio Room.Super breakfast - our grandsons (5 and 8) very impressed with the double yolk eggs!Proprietors very friendly and helpful.Would thoroughly recommend Watermead to anybody visiting this part of the country.

Reviewer:Mr. Glen Travell | Wed 4th May 2011


Thoroughly enjoyable weekend stay - Rating 5/5

We decided to travel down to the Somerset, Devon, Dorset region over the Easter weekend 2011 and pre-booked online to stay at the Watermead Guest House in Chard.The guest house was easy to find, with plenty of parking space off of the main road. On arriving, the owners were very welcoming and helpful, and continued to be so throughout our stay. The room was clean and bright and just what I had booked, while breakfast was also very pleasant.Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay and would certainly think about returning if visiting this area again in the future!!

Reviewer:Mr. Alex Mulhall | Wed 27th Apr 2011


Contact

Watermead Guest House
83 High Street
Chard
Somerset
TA20 1QT

Tel: 01460 62834
enquiries@watermeadguesthouse.co.uk

Hotel Facilities

  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • City Centre
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays